Programme for “The German Archipelago: German Minorities and Interwar Eugenics”

“The German Archipelago: German Minorities and Interwar Eugenics”

17 - 18 December 2011, Balliol College, Oxford

Programme

Saturday, 17 December (Massey Room)

10:30-12:30: Volksdeutsche Eugenics

Tudor Georgescu: “Transylvanian Saxons Eugenics: Concepts and Practices”

Björn M. Felder: “From Proto-Eugenics to Euthanasia: Baltic GermanEugenicsin Latvia and Estonia 1890-1940“

Paul Weindling: “The Volga Germans as a Focus of Rival Racial Pathologies“

(Chair: Marius Turda)

13:30-15:00: Eugenics and National Identity

Filip Krčmar: “The Swabian-German Kulturbund and Eugenic Issues in Yugoslavia’s Volksdeutsche Periodicals, 1921-1941”

John C. Swanson: “A people with Two Souls: Making Germans in Interwar Hungary”

(Chair: Calin Cotoi)

15:30-17:00: Volksdeutsche in Romania

Hildrun Glass: “Reconceptualisation of German Ethnic Identity in Romania under Nazi influence”

Mariana Hausleitner: “The political radicalization of the Volksdeutsche in Bessarabia, the Bukowina, and the Banat 1933-1935”

(Chair: Tudor Georgescu)

 

Sunday, 18 December (Old Common Room)

10:30-12:00: Nazi- Racial Hygiene and Volksdeutsche

Susanne Schlechter: “Missing Resettlers: ‘Heim ins Reich’ in the Shadow of Nazi Politics from 1940 to 1944”

Maria Fiebrandt: “Racial Hygienic Mechanisms of Selections during the Resettlement of the Volksdeutsche,1939-45”

(Chair: Björn M. Felder)

13:30-15:00: Volksdeutsche and Nazi Germanys’ Racial Policy

Steffen Werther: “Volk vs. Race: The German Minority in Denmark and the SS idea of a ‘Greater Germanic Empire’”

Stephan Lehnsteadt:  “Exercising Germanisation: The Volksdeutsche and Racial Politics in Warthegau and General Government”

(Chair: Paul Weindling)

15:30-16:30: Concluding Remarks, by Paul Weindling followed by discussion

 

Participants

Tudor Georgescu (Oxford Brookes University): tgeorgescu@brookes.ac.uk

Björn M. Felder (University of Goettingen): bfelder@uni-goettingen.de

Calin Cotoi (University of Bucharest): calincotoi@yahoo.com

Maria Fiebrandt (Technical University Dresden): Maria.Fiebrandt@tu-dresden.de

Hildrun Glass (Ludwig Maximilians Universität, Munich): hildrun.glass@lrz.uni-muenchen.de

Mariana Hausleitner (Ludwig Maximilians Universität, Munich): m.hausleitner@t-online.de

Filip Krčmar (Novi Sad):zrenjanistika@gmail.com

Stephan Lehnsteadt (German-Historical-Institute, Warsaw): lehnstaedt@dhi.waw.pl

Susanne Schlechter (NS-Memorial Alte Pathologie‘ Wehnen/ Oldenburg): SusanneSchlechter@web.de

John C. Swanson (Utica College, New York): jswanso@utica.edu

Marius Turda (Oxford Brookes University): mturda@brookes.ac.uk

Paul Weindling (Oxford Brookes University): pjweindling@brookes.ac.uk

Steffen Werther (Södertörns högskola): steffen.werther@sh.se

 

For further information please contact the conveners:

Tudor Georgescu:  tgeorgescu@brookes.ac.uk or

Björn Felder: bfelder@uni-goettingen.de

 

Organized by:

Oxford Brookes University and its Working Group on the History of Race and Eugenics

University of Göttingen

Pulse-Project.org

 

Kindly funded by:

The Berendel Foundation, London

The Federal Government Commissioner for Culture and the Media upon a Decision of the German Bundestag.

 

 

© 2011. All content, Pulse-Project.org